Viola Davis Captures SAG Award, Addresses Colorism In America

Praise Cleveland

On Sunday, Viola Davis won a Screen Actor?s Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series for ABC?s smash hit, ?How To Get Away With Murder.? During her SAG Award acceptance speech, Davis addressed colorism in Hollywood and America.

“When I tell my daughter stories at night, inevitably, a few things happen. Number one, I use my imagination. I always start with life, and then I build from there. And then the other thing that happens is she always says, ‘Mommy, can you put me in the story?’ And you know, it starts from the top up.”

Davis thanked the producers of ?How To Get Away With Murder? for thinking a “Sexualized, mysterious woman could be a 49-year-old, dark-skinned, African-American woman who looks like me.”

On Monday, Roland Martin, host of ?NewsOne Now? and the Straight Talk panel discussed colorism in Hollywood, America and…

View original post 191 more words

Leave a Reply

